It's my life, but not as I knew it!

To my sleeping Twinkles,

Tucked up warm in bed,

Tonight is the historical night

Mammas like me dread.

Tonight you’re still my babies,

Tomorrow you’ll be grown,

You’re starting your first day at school,

(I shouldn’t really moan).

But I remember your first breaths,

Your first words and your first steps,

Watching you grow up in three short years,

It’s left me feeling blessed.

Now you’ll meet new friends,

And I’ll hear names that I don’t know,

I can only hope they treat you well,

I’m not sure I want to let you go.

Your new teacher will be guiding you,

She’ll teach you all the time,

Please don’t forget that up ’til now,

All your lessons have been mine.

When I see you dressed in the morning,

In your blazers, ties and shoes,

It’s going to serve as a reminder,

Of the tiny outfits I used to choose.

I can’t believe this day is here,

It’s seemed to come so fast,

As we’re preparing for your future,

I can’t help thinking of the past.

You guys used to be so tiny,

You still are in my eyes,

But look at you all ready to go,

Your morning kisses are my greatest surprise.

Good night my baby Twinkles,

I made you both from scratch,

I hope you sleep better than I probably will,

You need energy to help you run and catch.

Good luck in your first day at school,

I know you’ll do just fine,

Just please remember to give me one last kiss,

And whisper “love you Mamma of mine”.

Let me know what you think.

