It's my life, but not as I knew it!

Drum roll please…… We’re starting to think about potty training Biscuit and Cracker! Pre-school is looming in a mere couple of months and they are showing plenty of the signs of readiness (check out NHS Potty Training Tips if you’re looking at potty training your little ones). 

A reward system is good to try, if your children are old enough to understand the system and enjoy getting treats. We decided to try a sticker chart with Biscuit and Cracker.

So there we were, all prepared with 2 potties, a toilet seat and an armful of stickers for them. Biscuit then pipes up that she needs the toilet; low and behold up she climbs and does a number 1 and a number 2! Proud Mama here rushes in afterwards armed with our sparkly ladybird stickers (oh yeah) and she pops it on to her reward chart. 

Now picture the crumpled little face of Cracker and imagine his tears which quickly turn in to racking sobs. He comes rushing over to me and apologises to me for being “bad”. In his beautiful blond head Biscuit did something really good and got a sticker, he didn’t get a sticker so he didn’t do something good, ergo he did something bad. 

I hadn’t even anticipated this. What on earth?!?! I followed all parenting guidelines and no-one warned me about this response. It wasn’t even jealousy (I was a little prepared to deal with that), it was toddler guilt. What should I do? A couple of friends I spoken with since thought I should have given him a sticker to show him that he wasn’t bad, but I think that would have taken away from the amazing feat that Biscuit has performed. 

Instead we sat down with Cracker down separately and explained to him again that they only get those special stickers if they do a pee or a poop in the toilet or potty. It doesn’t mean she’s a good girl and he’s a bad boy, it just meant that she did something special. I hope he now understands. Biscuit hasn’t asked to use the toilet/potty since, so we haven’t had a chance to test it.

All the things that get made harder due to the blessing of having twins! All we can do is our twin-parent-best! 

Let me know what you think.

