It's my life, but not as I knew it!

My husband is Italian. They do romance really well, they’re famous for it!

In the old days we did Valentine’s. We’ve done the big meals out and the cosy dinner at home. We’ve given thoughtful presents and ensured that we book the time off work to spend together.

And then there were four of us. Once children come along, particularly two at the same time, it is often hard to take time out and remind yourselves that you were a couple before your family grew. Rob and I are not particularly good at this. We both work full time (different hours too) and have two energetic and lively two-and-a-half year olds to entertain when we’re home. Trust me when I tell you that most nights we are too exhausted to even want to go out for a meal, even with all the offers of babysitting help from friends and family. We went out for a quick bite to eat one night in Italy, leaving the sleeping twins with Nonna and Zia, and we were home by 9 absolutely shattered!

Plus your new life means you enjoy different things. As someone who really, really loved lie-ins before having children I would never have believed you telling me that I like getting up and out early and being the first family at the zoo, or the aquarium! Flashy meals and nights out dancing and drinking don’t hold the same appeal for me as they once did. I am much happier snuggled on a sofa with Rob, Biscuit, Cracker and our cat, eating popcorn and watching Disney films (God, what has happened to me)!

Rob brought Biscuit and Cracker to pick me up from work on Friday. They got to see my office and my desk etc, and to meet one of the lovely people I work with. We then got the bus home as a family and I had people to chat to instead of doing the typical London commute where you don’t even look at anyone else! We got off the bus early so we could have a bit of a walk and then made the decision to go for a meal at our local Italian restaurant. Seeing the twins sitting nicely at the table, eating their dinner and playing made me so happy.

Valentine’s Day isn’t about romance and big expensive gestures. It’s about spending time with the people you love and appreciating what you have. And that’s exactly what I got to do, there just happened to have been four of us there!!

Thanks for reading x

Let me know what you think.

