It's my life, but not as I knew it!

Christmas is such a brilliant time to get crafty with the kids. This year we decided to make our own advent calendars using hand prints.

IMG_1867.JPG

We got some card and let Biscuit and Cracker paint anything they wanted as a background (it’s their calendar after all!) and then let that dry. I was then going to put their handprints directly onto this using white paint, but I couldn’t get hold of any child-friendly white paint in my area so I decided to draw around their hands onto white paper and cut out their handprints. I then stuck these onto their painted backgrounds.

IMG_1868.JPG

I cut Santa hat shapes out of red paper. Older children will, of course, be able to paint a nice red hat on their handprint Santa but the Twinnies are a bit too little for that amount of direction this year!! Using my incredible artistic skills I draw Santa’s eyes, mouth and nose onto the handprints. Again, older children will enjoy doing this bit themselves. I found this poem on Busy Little Bugs site and thought it was so adorable that I printed it on contrasting paper and stuck that on the paper too.

IMG_1869.JPG

I finished the calendars by drawing 24 circles and numbering them. This is where the cotton wool balls will be stuck to make Santa’s beard. The twins stick a cotton ball on everyday to count down.

I love Christmas SO much, we have quite a few advent calendars around the house as I think the anticipation and counting down really add to the fun. That’s why I wanted Biscuit and Cracker to have one for them, made by them.

I hope you enjoyed our crafty Christmas idea. Why don’t you give it a go with your little ones?

Comments on: "Christmas at Casa Biscuit and Cracker, part 2" (1)

  1. That’s a brilliant idea!!!

Let me know what you think.

